Joys of Old Age

When I first decided to be an anthropologist, I knew I wanted to travel. I just didn’t know I wouldn’t find much to say until I was…old.

When I undertook fieldwork as a youngster there were no cell phones. Heck, there were no phones where I was. I actually transported a portable typewriter.

Now I transport ear plugs and dental care, sunscreen and orthotics, a collapsible cane and various medications. Moisturizer and dental floss. Vitamins.

Reading glasses and bifocal contacts and special eye drops. Statins. Special earplugs for the plane after ear damage some years ago.

So it evens out. No typewriter. Two devices and a keyboard. Maybe it doesn’t even out. At least no books. Only kindle.

Leave a Reply

